Our History

A History of Waller County Democratic Club

By Gwendolyn Burns Carter

The Waller County Democratic Club was organized in April 1988 to stimulate in people an active interest in government affairs, increase the efficiency of popular government, to perpetuate the ideals and principles of the Democratic Party, and to help acquaint the voters and the potential voters with the issues and with the candidates running for office. The Waller County Democratic Club was chartered by the state in May 1988.

Ms. Annie Laura Day was a mentor to the Waller County Democratic Club who was a friend to the Honorable Ann Richards. Ms. Day was able to use her influence to get the Honorable Ann Richards to speak in Brookshire, Texas at one of the Club’s banquets. In turn, the Waller County Democratic Club chartered a bus to the inauguration festivities of Ann Richards as the newly elected Governor of the State of Texas. Other speakers who spoke at the Waller County Democratic Club’s banquets included State Representative Alma Allen, Attorney Ben Hall, Jew Don Boney, Past State Representative Sylvester Turner to name a few.

For activities and projects, Myrtle Carson started a Wounded War Veteran’s Project in the year 2014. Members donated items which were later delivered by Myrtle Carson, Ruth Connett and Dr. Halcyon Watkins to the San Antonio Veteran’s Hospital. In addition to the Wounded War Project, a $500 dollar scholarship was established for high school and college students.

The Waller County Democratic Club meets the fourth Thursday of each month in person and on Zoom.

The Waller County Democratic Club has had the honor of being led by many devoted individuals since it’s Charter in 1988 and continues to have strong and loyal leadership. The club is devoted to ensuring that Democracy is provided for all people, not just a select few.

Presidents of the Waller County Democratic Club:

  • Larry Hickman
  • Elroy Stevenson
  • Hilda Prock
  • Dorothy Bottos
  • Gill Weaver
  • Bill Robinson
  • Susan Hopkins
  • John Mull
  • Marion Gollmer
  • Ben Tibbs
  • Dr. Denise Mattox
  • Attorney Sylvia Cedillo